Tyty is My Homegirl: In case you did not know that by now

IMG_8795
When your fly-aways stick straight up…Photo by Troy Joseph Curtis

 

I mean, I have gotten a few likes from her and a major retweet that rocked my Twitterverse, so you can basically say we are on speaking terms. It is no big deal.

Some of you have read my letter to Tyra. Some of you have even read my follow-up blog post after she RT’d that letter.

The “Tyty is My Homegirl” posts are all about diversifying the definition of beauty.

Girls of all kinds can be beautiful — from the thin, plus-sized, short, very tall, ebony to porcelain-skinned; the quirky, clumsy, shy, outgoing and all in between. It’s not easy, though, because many people still put beauty into a confining, narrow box.… Think outside of the box.… Pledge that you will look in the mirror and find the unique beauty in you.

Tyra Banks

Because we should not have to settle for being called “unconventionally beautiful”.

Because there has been progress in the diversification of the fashion industry, but there is much more room to grow.

Because God made you beautiful, so you are.

So, I welcome you. Pour yourself a cup of coffee and have a chat with me. xoxo

Leave a Reply

